The Arabic word for "Islam" means "surrender, submission, commitment, and peace." Islam can, therefore, be characterized as a way of freely surrendering to divine will to achieve ultimate peace.

What is meant by Islam?

The Arabic word for "Islam" means "surrender, submission, commitment, and peace." Islam can, therefore, be characterized as a way of freely surrendering to divine will to achieve ultimate peace.

Who is God or Allah?

God is called "Allah" in Arabic. People of all faiths worship the same universal God. Since the word "Allah" is neither masculine nor feminine, it is occasionally preferred over God. Furthermore, "Allah" has no plural form.

 For Muslims, what is the last revealed scripture?

Muslims consider the Qur'an to be the final revealed scripture that God sent. God conveyed the message to Muhammad during his twenty-three-year mission in Arabic. During Muhammad's lifetime, the Qur'an was written down by scribes and committed to memory. The Qur'an strongly emphasizes moral, ethical, and spiritual principles to bring justice to all. Many Muslims attempt to learn the Qur'an for guidance and read in Arabic, its original language. Muslims frequently commit entire chapters of it to memory. Every day, they read a portion of it. The Sunnah is a chronicle of the sayings and acts of Muhammad. The Qur'an is interpreted with the aid of the Sunnah. 

What are the beliefs of Muslims?

Muslims hold six central beliefs:

  1. Trust in a single God (Allah)
  2. Confidence in Angels
  3. Belief in the sacred texts given to all the prophets, such as the Bible given to the prophet Jesus, the Torah given to the prophet Moses, and the Qur'an (Koran) assigned to the prophet Muhammad,
  4. faith in every prophet sent by God, such as Moses, Jesus, Muhammad, Ishmael, Noah, Jacob, and Isaac. Muslims do not view Jesus as the Son of God in the same way that Christians do, despite their belief in Isa or Jesus.
  5. Faith in life after death and the Day of Judgement. Getting nearer to God is the best reward for doing good deeds.
  6. Faith in the will of God. This indicates that although God is all-powerful and nothing can occur without His approval, he has granted humans the freedom to choose good or evil. Everyone will be asked about their life in this world at the end.

What are Islam's Five Pillars?

These are guidelines for applying Muslim beliefs in day-to-day life:

  1. A shahadah, or declaration of faith, is a statement that affirms that Muhammad is the prophet or messenger of Allah and that there is only one god.
  2. The five daily prayers are known as salat, or ritual prayer, and are said at dawn, noon, midafternoon, sunset, and night. The prayers are offered with the face towards Mecca and in Arabic. 
  3.   Giving 2.5% of one's wealth to the underprivileged is known as zakat (alms tax).
  4. Muslims observe sawm, or fasting, during the daytime hours of Ramadan, the ninth month of the Islamic lunar calendar. The intention is to demonstrate equality with the impoverished and to remind people of the goodness of what they have. Ramadan is a time for introspection and self-control.
  5. Hajj: Muslims consider that everyone should visit the Ka'bah in Mecca at least once in their lifetime. Abraham (Ibrahim) and one of his sons are thought to have constructed the Kaaba. Muhammad brought it back to Allah's worship. It is, therefore, extremely sacred to Muslims.

What is the number of Muslims there?

Islam swiftly expanded throughout the world, starting in Arabia and the neighboring nations. Seven million Muslims reside in the United States out of the 1.2 billion Muslims worldwide. Merely 18% of Muslims live in the Middle East and are Arabs. India and Indonesia are the two nations with the largest Muslim populations. The Sunnis, who make up around 80% of all Muslims worldwide, and the Shi'ites, who make up about 20% of all Muslims, are the two main branches of Islam. They disagree on who, after Muhammad's death, was the legitimate leader of Islam, despite having the same core beliefs.